Snowy day- Garden Planning, Reading and Dreaming

 

I spent a little time at my garden plot yesterday – dropping off coffee grounds from the coffee shop and mixing with dried leaves as I build up the beds for spring and summer.

The beds being developed are for beans, peas and squash. They will also have poles/teepees to climb and maximize the space.

My favorite poles are bamboo cut from a local “wild”patch.

I have been thinking of adding some potatoes to the garden this year. This is just for fun since they are quite inexpensive to buy at the Farmers Market- BUT they are such a rewarding plant. I have seen a few plans for building towersto maximize the growth of spuds in small spaces- The following was the first I found on a random search.

http://www.onehundreddollarsamonth.com/how-to-build-a-potato-tower/

I am also adding a 2nd layer of wooden pallets to raise the beds in the garden to provide for deeper roots and protect against the flooding like we had last year. Hopefully I will grow some full sized veggies this year , rather than the stunted babies I got last year.

Image

 

Some of the following ideas I found with a quick search. I may add starwberries as well as potatoes. Pallets make great sense for this sweet treat.

http://www.onehundreddollarsamonth.com/pallet-gardening-the-strawberries-are-going-bonkers/

This article has a lot of fun ideas- many of which i have seen and read and tried in the past.

https://brightnest.com/posts/learn-to-make-a-pallet-garden-in-7-easy-steps

 

Leave a Reply

