Stinging Nettles and Milk Thistle – Weeds or Wonders

>Planting and growing “weeds” is a lot of fun and beneficial. In the past I have grown dandelions and they are great in salads, soups and smoothies. Tasty and full of vitamins/minerals.           Image

This year I am growing Stinging nettles and Milk Thistle.  I love a plant that can fight back when harvested- like going hunting. I also enjoy the challenge of creating and attractive garden, that is a joy to visit and walk by.  The color and spread of the nettles and the variegated coloring of the thistle leaves and the beautiful purple flowers. AND the thorns.

Besides the taste and fun in the garden- these cool plants have the following benefits.

Stinging Nettle – leaves/roots – Vitamin:A,B,D,C,K; Iron,calcium and silica{ Urtica dioica }

Helpful/useful for:

-Urinary tract Infections                        – Kidney stones

-Joint ailments and arthritis                  -allergies

– general inflammation                          -internal bleeding

-all kinds of ..itis issues                          -many other indications……

How to Consume:  Cooked greens, tea , smoothies, leaves and stems as a topical skin treatment

 

Milk Thistle –leaves, blooms,stems and seeds, high anti-oxidants,bioflavonoids     {silybum marianum}

Helpful / Useful for:

-Liver and gallbladder concerns            -appetite and heartburn

-allergy concerns                                     -hangover

– diabetes issues                                      – alcohol abuse symptoms

How to consume- Leaves and flowers cooked or in salads or smoothies, seeds as a coffees sub.

 

 Image

The new plants are coming in slowly but look great and I will add some more pictures as they mature and I have more starting for late season harvest.

I became enamored of these greens a few years ago when I got “hooked” on green smoothies. I was able to purchase dandelion greens at the store but had to cut and harvest these in the wild or from the “weedy” section of gardens at other homes. Many of them looked at me funny when I planted seeds for these tasty greens as well as dandelions.

More to come.

Comments are closed.